Skip to content
May 30, 2010 / Julia Hughan

Sunday morning often leads to procrastination – so here is some Australian country music.

With sincerity, I have spent the the past decade of my life aspiring towards taking up permanent residency within the United States, absorbing the music and culture that has always existed a thirteen hour airplane trip away.

My family and I spent a handful of our summers over there skiing and bonding…I spent most of that time completely engrossed and hoping to make my presence there long-term. Even now I have moments where I want to simply charge a ticket to my credit card, book a flight and never return. It’s reminiscent of cabin fever – on a vast island. Alright, maybe not.

It has only been in the previous twelve months that I have been presented with the realisation (in large part owed to the team at Country Music Channel) that there is brilliant music present in my own back yard.

So today I am paying minor homage to that fact with a few of my favourites:

McKalister Kemp – “It Don’t Buy You Love” (This track was written and recorded in a little over a week…)

Melinda Schneider – “Stronger”

Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson – “Monkey on a Wire”

Sara Storer – “The Land Cries Out”

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Paul W Dennis / Jun 12 2010 8:30 pm

    What – no Slim Dusty, Tex Morton, Frank Ifield or Gordon Parsons ??

    Just kidding – they are a bit old school, although I still regard Slim Dusty, Frank Ifield and Rolf Harris as the most talented performers Australia ever produced

    • Julia Hughan / Jun 12 2010 10:01 pm

      I will definitely shift a little more of the focus towards Australian heritage country in the coming months. Slim and Tex will most of course be present in that one (along with Buddy Williams and Reg Lindsay).

      Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

