Skip to content
August 15, 2010 / Julia Hughan

I’m not lazy, I am just writing a thesis.

[tweetmeme source=”julesh”]

I promised myself that I would not enter into the blogsphere, invest a little time in a blog and then abruptly abandon the cause. I am not lazy (well, a little). I am not lying by a pool somewhere sipping mocktails and listening to The Mystiqueros. I am not even sitting on a couch watching ABC News 24 reporting on a group of Belgians who used 800,000 begonias to create a majestic flower carpet.

Instead, I am permanently attached to my ergonomic chair, sitting in front of my iMac and performing a textual analysis on two notable country music websites.

Every morning I wake up at 5am, check my Blackberry for emails (because it makes me feel like I am working), catch up on Google Reader, browse my Twitter feed, brew a cup of coffee and return to my desk for eight hours of academic neurosis. This has been my living pattern for the past sixty days and will continue for the next sixty.

In the meantime I will post some solid outside content, some random quotes and function as a non-automated link farm. Why? Because I have 22,000 words due in less than sixty days. I am also too much of a realist to know that I simply can not commit to maintaining this tiny little blog in the way that I would like to.

With that said, here is some solid outside content from my own daily source of inspiration, HypeBot:

Marketing To An Audience With An Audience.

Brian Solis, recognized as one of the most prominent thinkers and published authors in new media, is always insightful and thought-provoking. In the video below, where he talks about the troubles that marketers face when marketing to an audience with an audience, is a small snapshot into why his opinion and books are so influential:

Leave a Reply

