Skip to content
August 16, 2010 / Julia Hughan

Don’t be a tape player hater and listen to the damn album. My self imposed music mandate.

[tweetmeme source=”julesh”]

“Don’t be a tape player hater” – Luke Bryan/Galen Griffin/Patrick Jason Matthews

I have a confession to make. I spend hours and hours a week consuming information from HypeBot, Digital Music News, Billboard, Pitchfork, Mi2N and a bottomless list of blogs concerned with music futurism.

What am I reading about?

As music news goes, I am reading about whether Apple will finally introduce cloud-based technology and why songwriters can’t make a living and yet more music is being published now than ever before. In recent months my inner nerd especially enjoyed the blog post discussing the number of clicks it takes to access music content.

What else am I doing?

Instead of consuming the music product like a fan, I load the album (if I do in fact have the actual CD) into iTunes, grab my laptop and analayse. For example…

  • I examine the length of introductions to see if they sync with Jay Frank’s future hit methodology.
  • I consider whether the three verse model is still viable in popular country music.
  • I question why Big Machine Records opted to place Taylor Swift‘s “Mine” under the ‘pop’ category in iTunes.

I love music. And yet, I am more concerned with monitoring online conversations, engaging in discussions and analysing digital media strategies.  I admit it. I am 22 years old and I am already an over analytical musical cynic.

What am I going to do?

For one week I am putting forward a music mandate to enjoy the music and consume it.

I will buy Steve Forde‘s Hurricane from an independent music retailer, I will load the album into my car and I will drive until the last track is finished.

I encourage you to do the same.

Leave a Reply

